Brand Name Loyalty

There are a handful of household items that my family is definitely brand name loyal to.  For example:

– Coke:  And I do mean Coca-Cola.  We conducted a week long experiment where we tried a handful of different generic sodas:  Aldi, WalMart, Publix.  We just couldn’t do it.  Being from the south, nothing tastes as good as the real thing.  Coke is the only way we can go.  We do collect coke reward points to redeem for coupons and we watch the sales to stockpile when it’s a good price.

–   Shampoo:  My husband will only use Head and Shoulders.  Not a huge deal, but that stuff can be expensive!!  I am always on the lookout for coupons.  On the other hand, I don’t care what type of shampoo that I use.  I was able to take advantage of some clearance shampoo at Kroger last week.  By combining the clearance prices with coupons, I was able to get 4 bottles of shampoo (Garnier Fructris and Suave) for $1.70.

– Orange Juice:  OJ is less about brand and more about type.  I guess I am an OJ snob.  Blame it on all the long days in Florida…  I just can’t drink “from concentrate” juice.  I have to have “not from concentrate.” 

Most everything else, we are open to whatever is the best deal.  From toothpaste, to toilet paper, to fruit juice, to canned veggies…  if it’s cheap, we’ll try it! 

In our experience, we have had really good luck with Aldi brand items.  Although, since I’ve started really watching the weekly sales and collecting the corresponding coupons, I’ve been able to buy name brand items for less than Aldi prices.

Leave a Reply

